Sirius.

I have a confession: I’m supposed to be writing a French essay. But today, as recently revealed by the great J.K., is Sirius Black’s birthday.

Sirius is my favourite character in the Harry Potter series, and indeed one of my favourite characters in the entire literary world. For a long time this fictional man represented a ray of hope for me, and has become an integral part of my being, much like the Harry Potter series as a whole. As I have The Boy Who Lived, Part 2 in the works (and also as I have got a French essay to churn out before tomorrow) I’m going to keep this post relatively short, which is incredibly difficult, I’ll have you know!

Sirius Gif 1

Sirius was one of the first Harry Potter characters I met when I first begun to read the series (aside from Harry, Ron, Hermione, Dumbledore, Snape, Malfoy, McGonagall… you get the point). Despite this, although I identified very much with Harry and Hermione (sorry Ron) as a child, Sirius was one of the first people whose words really spoke to me. Whose character made an irremovable mark. The first Harry book I read was Prisoner of Azkaban (I know, don’t shoot me!), which my grandfather gave to me when I was still in the realm of the one digit age. I remember being totally engrossed in it, utterly immersed in the Wizarding World and unable to put the wad of paper down. I cried my eyes out when I’d finished it, and promptly started reading it again; you’ve no idea the joy I felt when I found out that there were six other books to devour! Although I may not be categorised as the Potter Generation, even though I did grow up with the films, I feel that I really am a part of that generation. I lived in those books for 8 years, and still do in a way.

Order of the Phoenix - Sirius and Harry

Buuuut, back to my dear friend Mr Black. Sirius represented a lot for me growing up, especially when I lost my grandfather, and he has always been that light bulb of hope in the crowded dark room so filled with loneliness. His words have resonated so much with me, and resonated first; even though I wholly identify with some of Dumbledore’s majestic words, it was Sirius who held the torch of hope first, and still does. In the books, he’s Harry’s ray of hope, the person he can turn to when he needs help, a parental guide, a friend in mischief and in the the serious times which form so solidly as Voldemort returns to power. And so it was, is the same for me. As the Beatles’ song goes, when I find myself in times of trouble, Sirius Black comes to me…

So, on his birthday, I’d like to share with you some of those words of wisdom which J.K. Rowling so eloquently formed.

The ones that love us never really leave us. You can always find them, in here [lays his hand on Harry’s heart]. *

If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.

You’re not a bad person. You’re a very good person, who bad things have happened to. *

You should have died! Died, rather than betray your friends, as we would have done for you!

The world isn’t split into good people and Death Eaters. We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part you choose to act on. That’s who we really are. *

Here’s to you, Padfoot! 


You can catch the Harry Potter movies online, and here’s the combined trailer for all eight films if you haven’t entered the Wizarding World already.

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
This entry was posted in Fictional Characters/Novellas/Films. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sirius.

  1. htaylori says:

    Sirius is one of my favourite characters in the Harry Potter universe!

Leave a Reply

