The Carrie Effect.

Carrie Bradshaw. You either love her or you hate her. Personally, I love her. I love the idea of Carrie Bradshaw, the Manhattan-based writer who grew up in the suburbs of Connecticut, the woman who followed her dreams as a writer and was always her own person. Since I first discovered Candace Bushnell’s Sex and The City and her prequel The Carrie Diaries, I have always loved Carrie. When they transferred her to screen in the forms of AnnaSophia Robb and Sarah Jessica Parker, well. That was it really. Even though Carrie writes that, in Manhattan, “no one has breakfast at Tiffany’s, and no one has affairs to remember”, my love affair with Manhattan started right there, in those opening lines. Because, as Carrie proved in both books, Manhattan is where everything is accepted, anyone can just be. And I love that. I crave that. You can be an intellectual, an artist, a banker… you can be anyone.

AnnaSophia Robb as the young Carrie Bradshaw (1986)

AnnaSophia Robb as the young Carrie Bradshaw in The Carrie Diaries.

Today, in Earth’s grey and cold England, I decided to invest a little bit of Carrie’s carefree nature and Manhattan’s unjudging way of being into my own attitude. I even went as far as to wear my bright purple tights (that’s right! And I absolutely adore them!!). It felt good. Suddenly I felt freer. Empowered. I smiled more today than I’ve smiled in weeks. And so I dubbed it The Carrie Effect.

Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City. And yes, those are Manolo Blahniks. (!!)

Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City. And yes, those are Manolo Blahniks. (!!)

As I walked home in the pouring torrential rain, I was suddenly inspired to put on some 80s music, namely Kim Carnes’s Bette Davis Eyes and Duran Duran’s Hungry Like the Wolf; as I walked, I sunk into the music, letting the sound of my heels hitting the sidewalk drift away. The rain washed over me, like everything else, for I did not care. I was me, and, in that moment, I was not afraid. Oh!, how good it felt.

So, I appeal to you, dear readers. Add a little Carrie to your life. Be confident. Don’t care. Showcase who you are beneath it all. You are you, and nobody, nobody can change that.


NB: There is WAY more Carrie to come. Stay tuned!

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
This entry was posted in Fictional Characters/Novellas/Films., Other. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

