Monday, August 24, 2015. 

Martin Freeman. The world knows him as Dr. John Watson of Sherlock, Mr Maddens of Nativity, Bilbo Baggins of The Hobbit, Arthur Dent of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. He’s one awesome guy. And today I had the pleasure of meeting him.

martin freeman 2

I was minding my own business in my local shopping centre when he walked past me with his son. At first I could not move, or speak, I was in utter shock. This was the man whom I had watched on my television and marvelled at for goodness knows how long, and he was walking right in front of me. He walked past majestically, much like the way he walks as his character John on Sherlock. After a second, I decided to just bite the bullet and go over and say something, and this is what happened…

I introduced myself, and said what a pleasure it was to meet him; he shook my hand with a confident and firm grip, and said the same about me. For some reason I felt the need to say that I had been rewatching Sherlock a lot recently and he smiled. Then I repeated my former statement, of what a pleasure it was to meet him, and he repeated his, and I walked away with a face that I’m sure was deep crimson. It was brief but it was such an honour.

For a while afterwards I was in a daze. I realised that, to my relief, I had said everything I had envisioned myself saying if I ever met a writer or actor whom I admire so much, which was good. I know that it was brief, and that Mr Freeman probably won’t remember me, but if you are reading this Mr Freeman, or indeed Ms Abbington, I’d just like to say thank you. I’ve learnt so much about acting, and indeed my own acting skills from watching your performances, both onstage and onscreen, so I must thank you for that (I believe part of my GCSE grade in Drama can be attributed to you!). You made my summer today, and it really was a pleasure to meet you.


Catch Sherlock on BBC iPlayer or on Netflix, along with most of Martin Freeman’s works. 

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
This entry was posted in Other. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday, August 24, 2015. 

  1. Ellie says:

    Wow!!! Where were you?!!

Leave a Reply

