Reading Escapades, Part 1

Hello there strangers!

I realise that I haven’t posted that much recently, and that would be due to my impending examinations and their proclivity to take up the entirety of my time (aside from the time I’ve spent reading, of course!). This will have to be rather brief  (sadly, and I apologise profusely), so I thought I’d write a short post on the books I have been reading as of late, which have fascinated me immensely.

Although I have been told that he is an incredibly famous author, before J.M. Coetzee’s Disgrace was recommended to me, I’d never heard of the man, or his novels. A South African Nobel Prize winning author whose main area of focus is Apartheid and post-Apartheid, Coetzee’s novels have turned out to be a mastery of the fine art of literature – they are honestly some of the greatest pieces of writing I have ever had the honour to come across. His use of language… aah, in short, Coetzee is an absolute legend!

I would like to write a longer and much more detailed post on Disgrace, so I will not give too much away; I will say this: the use of language to convey multi-faceted disgrace in terms of Apartheid is unbelievable. A short summary would consist of the following: David Lurie is a middle-aged English Literature lecturer in the fictional Cape Town Technical University in post-Apartheid South Africa, who has an affair with one of his students; he is denounced, disgraced, and exiled by his peers from the university, and from Cape Town itself. He goes to stay with his daughter, Lucy, in Eastern Cape, near Grahamstown, where the effects of Apartheid are catching up with the whites more quickly than in the main South African cities…

(Right, I won’t say anymore, for fear of ruining my blog post in advance!)

I’ve just begun another of his novels, Waiting for the Barbarians, which was written in 1980, during Apartheid, and uses a stunning allegory to present the cruelty of the time. Of course, I am not so well versed on it at present as I am only a short part of the way through so far, so a post on that will come in due course!

So… that brings you update on my reading escapades! Oh yes, I’m also reading The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James and attempting War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, whilst reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (J.K. Rowling) to my little brother; ah, the joys of reading when one has no time!

And on that note I must bid you all goodnight! (*goodnight*)

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
This entry was posted in Fictional Characters/Novellas/Films. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading Escapades, Part 1

  1. Hello there ! Good to see a fellow bibliophile. Would love to hear what you thought of ‘A portrait of a lady’. I am currently reading Sorcerer’s stone to my two year old. Hopefully, he will grow up to be a book lover.

Leave a Reply

