Never Again.

I believe in the sun, even when I do not see it.

I believe in love, even when I do not feel it.

I believe in God, even when He is silent.


70 years ago the Holocaust ended.

The greatest genocide the world has seen since ancient times.

But have we remembered?

*

The coarse cloth itches my body as I scratch away the contamination.

Around me, my fellows discard their clothing, creating an accumulation

In the centre of the room.

They assure us, in the Nazi way:

“You will be having a shower, to clean yourselves” they say.

Lies.

I can do nothing but comply, fearful for my life,

My nakedness reflected in everything I feel in my strife.

The door closes.

Darkness envelopes the room

I grab a hand, my heart pounding, sensing the doom

I choke.

And then I’m gone.


In the memory and honour of the 72 million souls who departed from this world at the hands of the Nazis.

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
This entry was posted in Other. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

