Ludwig van Beethoven’s Immortal Beloved.

I was reading the ‘Love Letters of Great Men and Women’ and I found a letter from Beethoven to his unknown love, addressed as ‘Immortal Beloved’. It really touched my heart and was something I could relate to, and therefore I thought I would share it.

Good morning, on 7th July.

Even in bed my ideas yearn towards you, my Immortal Beloved, here and there joyfully, and then again sadly, awaiting from Fate, whether it will listen to us. I can only live, either altogether with you or not at all. Yes, I have determined to wander about for so long far away, until I can fly into your arms and call myself at home with you, can send my soul enveloped by yours into the realm of spirits- yes, I regret, it must be. You will get over it all the more as you know my faithfulness to you; never another one can own my heart, never- never! O God, why must one go away from what one loves so, and yet my life in W. as it is now is a miserable life. Your love made me the happiest and unhappiest at the same time. At my actual age I should need some continuity, sameness of life- can that exist under our circumstances? Angel, I must hear that the post goes out every day- and must close therefore, so that you get the L. at once. Be calm- love me- to-day- yesterday.

What longing in tears for you- You- my life- my All- farewell. Oh, go on loving me- never doubt the faith-fullest heart

Of your beloved

L

Ever thine.

Ever mine.

Ever ours.

Stay inspired!

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
This entry was posted in Fictional Characters/Novellas/Films. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

