Family.

Hello all! I am still, and I repeat still, unwell. I don’t know what the heck is wrong with me, but I do know that I am watching a hell of a lot of films..

Anyway, at the moment I’m watching ‘Cheaper By The Dozen’ (2003, so the remake) and it inspired me to write a short entry on the significance of family. In the film, Steve Martin and Bonnie Hunt are parents to a dozen unruly kids, and when both their careers take off, well.. cue the chaos! It’s jam-packed with comedy, emotion and action, but the most important thing for me was the bond between the siblings.

Personally, I don’t get on with my siblings; we generally detest each other’s company. That’s what usually takes place in a home, but in ‘Cheaper By the Dozen’, the twelve siblings all work together to create the mess. When it all breaks down and the children all start to argue, the lonesome Mark is the one who causes the tragedy which draws the magnetic family into the center of their magnetic field.There’s something so heartwarming and overwhelmingly emotional about the way they all come together to show resilience in the face of adversity. This is additionally echoed in the scene where Steve Martin’s character, Tom, decides to quit his job as a football coach; the kids all crowd around him emitting the pure and unconditional love they feel for each other and their parents. I shrivel up into a helpless wrinkled heap of tears every time I watch it! Pathetic, right?

What really sums it up for me is when Mark is reunited with his brothers and sisters, and Jessica says the following:

“Your eccentricities and vision problems could be linked to any number of the Baker ancestors.”

The innocent style in which this is said depicts the pride and love that all siblings, and indeed, family should feel for each other. When it comes down to it, family is the thing that will save you when you hit the icy wall of tragedy or loneliness. Family are the people who will cement themselves by your side and stay steadfast, whatever is bowled your way. Family are the people who, despite everything, will always be there for you to turn to when you have no friends or partner. So, thank God for family.

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
Aside | This entry was posted in Fictional Characters/Novellas/Films.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family.

  1. Rafael Kamhi says:

    Hello it’s Rafael, I’m reading your blog and it’s really interesting there’s lots of things I didn’t know about you! I can’t believe you’ve been doing this since January. Keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

