Lovers of Letters.

Hi everyone. I’m still sick (yay!) and I’m getting worse (double yay!).

Anyway, I’m going to talk briefly about letter writing. It’s something I enjoy immensely, and I find it so unfortunate that it is becoming less common in its informal form.

What I find so beautiful about letter writing is the time one takes to actually find the correct paper and pen, sit and think over which are the correct words to use, write it out, envelope and stamp it and then go out of your way to find that Red Post Box on the road at the end of your street. Time is so precious, and to spend it on such an elegant and meaningful activity is just so wonderful in my mind.

However, this is not the only thing I find so magical about the art of letter writing. It is the precise selection of words that enthralls me so. The adjectives, the verbs, the nouns: they all make up the painting of expression through words. Letters, and indeed all types of writing, are like Monet’s paintings: a mess close up, but absolutely stunning when one gazes at it from afar. It can be argued that each word is important in its meaning, but I find that the specific words used are just like the strokes of Monet’s paintbrush- each stroke means something, yet it contributes to the overall beauty of the subject it is the making of. I find this so inspiring, and so uncommonly distinctive, that I hold letter writing very dear to my heart.

“Once, lovers on faraway shores sat by candlelight and dipped ink to parchment, writing words that could not be erased.”

-Mitch Albom, The Time Keeper.

At the moment, myself and a friend of mine are writing letters to each other. We write with sophistication, and use a variety of language and sentence structures that one cannot use on a day-to-day basis in common conversations. This art is being lost, and rapidly at that, and I fear that very soon technology shall surpass us and old traditions such as letter writing shall be lost forever. Centuries, millennium even, have passed and writing to those we love and our acquaintances has been a part of everyday life. Now, with internet and mobile technology taking enormous leaps, that has been lost, and the only letter one will receive is an invitation or a bill of outstanding payment. Why would one wish to obtain a bill, when one could receive a handwritten and thought-out letter from a friend or acquaintance wishing to become more familiar with you?

I may seem incredibly forceful, but look at the difference between an invitation for dinner through a letter and through a text:

“I am writing to invite you to dine with me on Wednesday 22nd January. I would be honoured if you would join me at the Hoi Polloi at Ace Hotel, as I wish to extend my acquaintance with you. I am aware that you are fond of the 1950s, and I would love to be the one to show you a restaurant that embodies the qualities of that era. I await your reply with anticipation, and look forward to spending an evening with you should you choose to accept my humble invitation.”

Against…

“Heyy u wanna go out 4 dinner 2moz? Lmk if u r free asap, yee? Spk l8r xo”

So, I implore you: please do not let letter writing fade into the abyss which is consumed by technology. Write letters which express your emotions, and write to the people who mean the most to you. Be inspired by the beauty of letter writing.

About nessyakamhi

British writer. Personal twitter: @nessyakamhi Personal Instagram: @nessita.k Facebook Page: Nessya Kamhi
This entry was posted in Fictional Characters/Novellas/Films.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

